So today I registered for the More Magazine/Fitness Magazine Women’s Half-Marathon (MFWHM). To say I’m excited is an understatement of the greatest proportions. I have been thinking about this ALL DAY since I registered! Let me start at the beginning.

I was feeling some type of way today. I just felt really crazy and off-kilter and very anxious. This morning I tried to go somewhere I have been at least three times before, and I couldn’t find my way there. I had to call and get directions. Then the rest of the day from that point on? Meh. I needed a pick me up. Something told me to check on the half-marathon registration. The site said previously that registration would open mid-January and that it’s a capped race. That meant I would have to register as soon as registration opened to guarantee myself a spot, or else it would sell out. I had planned to check on January 15th, but something told me to check today. So on a humble I go to the site and scroll down and I can tell the site looks different. I keep scrolling, and there it is:

Image

The Magic Button. I stared at it for a minute, amazed that it was actually there because it’s not mid-January. I think about waiting. I think about money; should I spend it on this registration? The race is on 4/13/14, and my 40th birthday is on 4/14/14. I decide running a half-marathon for my 40th birthday is worth it and I click the button.

And now I can’t stop thinking about this race! You would think it was my first one. But it is my first one outside of Cincinnati and it’ll be the first all women race I run. I’m not just running in NYC, I’m running through Central Park! I’ve never been to Central Park on any of my trips to NYC. I think I’m so excited because of the element of the unknown. Running the Pig here in Cincinnati, I’m running on streets I drive on (except when it goes in KY, because I don’t go to KY unless absolutely necessary). Now I’ve registered to run a race I know nothing about, I have no idea where the hills start or end, I didn’t even think there would be hills until I read the website. I mean, they tell you what miles the hills cover, but that means diddlysquat to me since I’ve never seen it.

I’m also excited about registration packet/bib pick-up, and the Health & Wellness Expo. Just to compare it to the Expo that they have here before the Pig. I’m pretty sure I don’t get a swag bag at the MFWHM. The website specified t-shirt, and you’re not even guaranteed the size of your choice:  first come, first served. So I think a swag bag is a pipe dream. No biggie, I’ll get my swag on at the Pig. Which is exactly 3 weeks after the MFWHM. Eh, I might be crazy. We’ll find out. 🙂

I’m excited to start training. I haven’t run since September. I mean, maybe a little bit here and there on the treadmill or as a warm-up during bootcamp, but that’s it. I’m not looking forward to it, but I think I’m going to have to actually run in the cold. See, I’m not a cold weather runner. When it’s cold or raining, I run on the treadmill. But I’m not sure what the weather will be like in April in NYC, so something tells me I need to do a few cold weather runs. And not even that jacked up news can take away my excitement about this race! This race is going to be special to me. I don’t know how or why, I just feel like it is. And because of that, I actually WANT to train for it. I look forward to lacing up my running shoes again. I do NOT look forward to running in cold weather, but I DO look forward to what I’ll learn about myself and about running. And I’m excited to try to get a little faster. I’m never trying to win the race; I’m not that type of runner. I do, however, like to challenge myself to get a little better every time. Last year, I finished the Pig in 2:38:45, and that was without really training for it. This year, I would like to finish both races at around 2:15. I think it’s doable, especially if I train the way I know I’m supposed to, and I will.

Oh, I almost forgot. There was an option to have someone contact you if you have an inspirational story to share. I checked the little box that they could contact me. I would love to be an inspiration to other women. I hope they contact me. 🙂

I used to be notorious for saying I would only run if a dog was chasing me. Now I’m running a half-marathon for my 40th birthday. I gotta admit, I amaze myself sometimes. You should give that a try:  AMAZE YOURSELF!

Until next time, as always, CHOOSE LIFE, CHOOSE HEALTH!