Random post…

I’ve been visiting gyms this week because I need some place to train for this half marathon and the races leading up to it. So far I have visited Victory Lady Fitness which I liked, but doesn’t have a child watch, so it’s a no go. Then I went to Urban Active and so far that’s my top choice. Based on location, price, and the playroom, it’s my best bet. I really like the facility. Next I went to Fitness19 (which for some reason I can’t stop calling Fitness21) and really, it was almost the best bang for my buck. It’s cheap, no contract, convenient location, and they have a playroom. The problem? NO SHOWERS. WTF am I going to do at a gym with no showers? I would always have to go AFTER work or on my way home from wherever. I don’t like that at all. Dude said it was how they kept the costs down. You get what you pay for, I guess. Last night I went to Planet Fitness with a friend of mine (who can take unlimited guests) and I really liked it, too! 24 hours and staffed the whole time. And my friend said the personal training sessions are free, you just have to schedule them. But they don’t have a playroom and it’s not all that convenient location-wise.

I got on a treadmill for the first time in about two years. I admit; I was nervous. I’m not sure why, but something about a constantly moving “street” under my feet is unnerving. I didn’t follow any particular training, I just wanted to run and assess where I was since I haven’t run/walked for exercise since the fall. Incidentally, while I think it is entirely too damn cold to be outside walking and running, yesterday I saw not one, not two, but TWENTY-ONE people running. It was 26 degrees outside and the streets were icy due to an ice storm the night before. But they were COMMITTED enough to wake up early and go out in the freezing cold and RUN in it. Bless their hearts. I’m obviously not that committed. Because my frugal ass is looking to pay to do something unnatural (the whole moving street thing) indoors that I could do for free outside. Anyone who knows me knows I ALWAYS choose free. ALWAYS. There is an exception to every rule. And running in the freezing cold is mine. Damn all that. Anyway, me and the moving street. I walked 3mph the first five minutes, then 4mph the next five minutes, then I ran for 11 minutes at 5mph. As I was upping my speed, I was also changing the incline by one each minute (up to three, then back to one, then back up, etc). I had a great workout! I even went to an incline of 5 at one point, running! I really pushed myself, and I enjoyed the intervals. After the 11 minutes running, I walked at 4mph for ten minutes then ran for 5, then alternated walking and running a minute or so at a time for 9 minutes, then I dropped to 3mph for my 5 minute cooldown. I watched SNL for the first 30 minutes and listened to my mp3 player for the other 30 minutes. Watching TV helped distract me from the fact that I was running. Not sure if that’s good, because what am I going to do when it’s just me and the concrete?

At any rate, I felt good when I walked out of that gym. 11 minutes is the longest that I’ve ever run at one stretch. I’m confident that I will get to a point that I can run an entire 5K. And I can’t believe it! I’m so happy with what my body is able to do. I’m going to rent Just Dance 3 today and try that out to see if I want to buy it. I will also do my strength training tonight.

83 days . . .

