And on time for the first time this month! Check me out, check, check me out! I lost 4.2lbs this week for a total of 37.4lbs. June was just a bad month overall. On June 1st I weighed 190.6lbs. I’m exactly 190lbs today. I’m ending the month sixth tenths of a pound less than I started. Not good. I hope my measurements tell a different story. We’ll see in a couple days.

So what did I do differently this week? I tracked everything. I weighed and measured everything. I actually tracked my healthy checks. I didn’t get smiley faces on all of them, but I attempted them all. I will work up to smiley faces across the board! I stayed active with Zumba, weight training (barely, I still need to do better), dancing around my living room, and of course, the Wii. And let me cut myself some slack about the weights. I missed my last workout and felt bad about it, so I danced to a couple of songs by doing exercises to the beat with 5lb weights in my hands. No ladders or sets or every counting reps, just squatting & shoulder pressing to the beat. On my walk yesterday (about 5.5mi) I wore ankle weights (2.5lb each leg) for half of it. If I had to stop at a light, I did side leg lifts or standing scorpion/donkey kicks. I kept my abs engaged for the majority of my walk. It was a great workout. So, really, I didn’t do half bad with strength training, even though I didn’t do exactly what I planned. I even tracked my activity in my workout log. I had a good week. I’m happy with my choices and I feel better about myself.

(In my Kyle from South Park voice) I learned something this week. I learned that even a setback as big as gaining over 6lbs will not deter me from my goal. I am serious about this. Moreso than I ever have. I did not beat myself up for too long over the gain, and I didn’t do what I used to do, just say ‘fuck it.’ I reminded myself that it all balances out in the end, picked myself up, dusted myself off, and did what I knew I was supposed to be doing in the first place. I got off track and got immediately back on track. It took a few days to get it back in gear, but I did it and I’m proud of myself.

The past two weeks, I’ve received two of the best compliments. Two weeks ago during my 2nd Zumba class, another lady in the class mentioned that the week before she watched me and another girl to keep up with the instructor. I told her she did NOT want to watch me because that week was my first week! She was visibly shocked and said, “I never would have known!” What can I say? I love to dance! That made me feel good! This morning on my way into my WW meeting, I ran into another member on her way out. She stopped me and told me that she remembered me (I remembered her, too, we started around the same time). She also said, “I remember you standing up and saying you weren’t obese anymore. You’re inspirational to me.” I could NOT believe it. No, seriously, I couldn’t believe it. It’s one thing to have people respond to your blog or FB posts about inspiring them; it’s almost cliche. But to have someone that is, literally, doing the same thing you’re doing, to see you in the meetings (struggling along with everyone else), and still think you are an inspiration? That made me feel awesome. I’m going to make sure I keep that ripple going by telling the other members in my meeting how they inspire me.

The thing that inspires me the most are the Lifetime members. I used to think that once I got to goal, I’d ditch WW and just try to maintain on my own. Remember, when I first dropped 70lbs, I did it on my own after 12 weeks of WW. I never had the desire that I do now to be an actual Lifetime member and, eventually, a leader. So now that I’m looking forward to reaching goal and becoming Lifetime, I pay more attention to the behaviors of Lifetime members. I am constantly amazed when I learn someone is Lifetime. I guess I just always assumed you reach Lifetime, you come weigh in once a month, and keep it moving. Y’all, they come every week! They weigh in, they stay for the meeting. Every week. It let’s me know that I’ll likely do the same thing. I tell myself all the time that what I’m doing now I have every intention to continue for the rest of my life. Why did I never include WW meetings in that scenario. Leading them? Yes. Attending them after my weigh-in? No. But now I know that I will. I can’t wait to get my little, gold book!

So that was my week. I lost weight and tried a new food. This coming week I want to lose some more weight and break back into the 180’s, drink more water, be consistent in strength training, and remain diligent about tracking, weighing, and measuring. Here’s to wishing you a great week!

