Oh my goodness gracious!!! IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!!! I just made a meal that I thought would be a struggle to make WW friendly and I was totally wrong. I had a 17PP dinner and that includes a dinner roll! And it was super filling! I can’t tell you how good it tasted, you have to make it for yourself. If you like cheese, you are going to LOVE this meal! And I didn’t use any fat-free cheese. Now that I think about it, it wasn’t even reduced fat. Delicious, do you hear me? Just straight up cheesy goodness! So let’s see, where should I start? I guess the beginning would be good, right?

The first thing I did was take the rolls out of the freezer so that they could rise while we took our afternoon nap. Naps are wonderful. It’s one of the small blessings of unemployment that no one tells you about. If I wasn’t afraid my house would look like a pig sty, I’d take one every day!

rising

Upon waking up, it was time to prepare and set up the mise en place. The salmon recipe is here and the potato recipe is here.

mise en place

Recipes weren’t meant to be followed. They were meant to create ideas. Your muse, if you will. So I didn’t follow the recipes to a T, as you’ll see by looking at the mise en place. I am doing my best to cook for 2 people, so I cut each recipe down the middle. Going in a pseudo-clockwise fashion we have 6.8oz wild caught salmon, kosher salt, 1 Tbsp basil (what you see is 3 little frozen cubes of basil, each cube is 1 tsp), Garlic & Herbs seasoning, 30g parmesan cheese (a little more than 1/4 cup), lemon juice (I didn’t measure it), 36g mild cheddar cheese, 1 Tbsp Gourmet Garden Garlic Spice Blend, 113g fat free yogurt (about half a cup). What I also used that you don’t see is butter (4 tsp in the potatoes and 1 Tbsp for 5 dinner rolls). There are 2 large potatoes boiling on the stove, so they didn’t make the picture. Bummer. I also took a picture of the stove in the very beginning. The potatoes are in the covered pot:

kitchen

See how teeny tiny my kitchen is? It is SUPER tiny. To the right is my refrigerator. Then on the opposite wall is the sink with the microwave on one side and the dish rack, cooking utensils, and paper towels on the other. Super. Tiny. Bowling alley kitchen. Yet another motivation to lose weight: it’s easier to maneuver in small spaces! The mise en place (setting up all your ingredients before beginning to cook) is a super space saver. I’m not sure what in the hell I was doing before, but there would be shit EVERYWHERE! Chaos! But not anymore. I’m learning and getting better. Back to the food. You can also see the rolls have risen.

risen rolls

I sprinkled a little kosher salt and garlic/herb seasoning on both sides of the salmon. Somehow I forgot to take pics of the salmon searing in the pan. The recipe said to sear it for 2 minutes each side (I followed that part, using PAM cooking spray), so I guess I didn’t have time for pics. I was too busy making this basil/Parmesan spread thingie. Now, the recipe called for 125g of Parmesan cheese. So I figure if I cut it in half, it would be about 63g. When I started to weigh it out, I got to 50g and said, “There’s no way this could be right, your math must be wrong.” To which I snorted because I knew my math wasn’t wrong. Perfectionist math minors don’t get their math wrong. But anal OCD ones will check anyway. And the arrogant ones will say, “I knew my math wasn’t wrong in the first place.” Then I thought to myself, “WTF, that’s WAY too much cheese for that little bit of salmon. That won’t crust! It’ll just be melty and gooey and melty, gooey fish is just WRONG!” I don’t even know if Parmesan cheese can ever become gooey, but that’s way beside the point. The point is, the recipe was obviously wrong, and I had to change it. I used 30g instead. Put it and the basil into the Magic Bullet (which, by the way, is my favorite kitchen gadget. I fuckin’ love my Magic Bullet. Not to be confused with ANY other type of bullet, get your minds out the gutter):

parm basil in bullet

And gave it a whirl. It seemed dry and wrong, so I squirted some lemon juice into the cup, just enough to moisten it up a bit. And I gave it another whirl. And in 3-2-1 (I love infomercials) we had

basil parm mixed

and it’s ready to spread onto the salmon which is perfectly seared (you can almost see it searing in the pic above) and placed on a baking sheet.

seared salmon

I spread the basil/Parmesan mix over the whole salmon fillet.

salmon spread

I threw the salmon and the rolls into the oven at about the same time to bake for 15 minutes. Now time to start the potatoes. They had finished boiling and were ready to be mashed while the salmon and bread baked.

boiled taters

After draining the water and mashing them up, I added the fat free yogurt and the garlic spice blend. I mashed them up, tasted them, and then added 4 tsp of unsalted butter (didn’t get a pic of that).

mashing taters

Here, again, I learned I had too much cheese. I topped the deliciously smooth mashed potatoes (and I didn’t even use my cake mixer!) with only 36g of cheddar cheese even though I had measured out 56g. After topping it with the cheese, I covered the pot with the lid while the salmon and bread finished in the oven.

cheesy taters
covered taters

Everything is done and ready to be served! I cut the salmon in half and divided the potatoes into 4 servings. While I was getting it divided, I put a bag of Bird’s Eye Steamfresh Asparagus, Gold & White Corn, and Baby Carrots in the microwave for 5 minutes.

Melted cheesy taters
cooked salmon
baked buttered rolls
plated
mommy plate

Seriously delicious! My son ate about half of his. He would have eaten more had I not given him bread at the beginning. I always forget that. But then it’s all he wants to eat. It’s not his fault; he’s fat girl on the inside, and we love bread. I did not overeat the bread! I was worried that because I baked 5 rolls I’d eat 4 rolls. Nope! Clearly the old me! I only ate ONE roll! Who’s bad?! (cue MJJ)

Ok, here’s the breakdown of the points:

Alaskan Wild Salmon w/ Basil Parmesan Crust – 5PP
Cheesy Garlic Mashed Potatoes – 6PP (5PP per serving, but I had 1 1/4 servings)
Mixed Veggies – 2PP (because of the corn, but it’s what I had in the freezer)
Dinner roll w/ butter – 4PP (3PP for the roll, 1PP for the butter)

Yum, yum, yummy, yum!!! So tomorrow is Day 2 and I’m looking forward to it. Tomorrow is Cinco de Mayo so that means TACOS!!! Which means that lunch on Friday is gonna be TACO SALAD!!! I can already tell this week is going to be filled with WW-friendly yum, yum, yummy, yum goodness!!!

