So you think you can eyeball your food, do you? I don’t think it’s a good idea. And let me show you why. Do you think you know what a serving of pasta looks like? Do you even know how much pasta constitutes one serving? Well, let’s test your knowledge. Close your eyes and picture what you think is a serving of pasta. I’ll wait. You got it? Ok, take a look at what a serving of pasta really is (brace yourself).

svg pasta

This is a SAUCER on the scale. 2oz of pasta barely fills a saucer. I still can’t believe it! I eat pasta maybe once or twice a month. I normally use a whole box (and normally whole wheat) in a recipe then divide it into servings. I’ve never divided the pasta into servings until today. Only one word comes to mind: WHOA! Actually what I said to myself was, “Fuckin’ seriously? This is all you get for 2 ounces?” I was simultaneously mad, appalled, and nervous. Mad because that’s fucked up that’s all you get for 2oz. I mean, really. Appalled because I felt like, WTF am I supposed to do with this?! Nervous because what if it didn’t fill me up? This was my lunch! But I trust the Moderation-PortionSize Nazis, I do. So I finish cooking lunch and serve it up. See the rest of the pasta in the background? That’s another 2.4oz. I thought the entire 4.4oz would be a serving. I still can’t believe it. I gave the rest of the pasta to Reuben for his lunch and I ate the 2oz serving. Yeah, my son got more pasta than I did. Fucked. Up. He probably burns more calories than I do in a day, too, if I had to be honest. So what? It’s still not fair. Restaurants have totally screwed us mentally when it comes to portion sizes. If that little bit is 2oz, then restaurants are easily giving us 4 servings of pasta, at least. And that’s just a damn shame. Now I have to train my mind and stomach that this is normal (on a salad plate, now):

plated

It was actually filling and tasty. It was just enough that I was no longer hungry, yet I also wasn’t stuffed. This lunch took less than an hour from prep to clean up. No lie. Let me let you in on my stream of consciousness so you can see how I even ended up eating it. I wanted breakfast for lunch: chicken smoked sausage (2), scrambled eggs w/ cheese (3), and a bagel thin (3). But I felt like we needed a real lunch and I needed to get rid of stuff that I have in the fridge. This is at noon. I go to the fridge and take out the chicken smoked sausage, leftover fettuccine noodles, and a little more than half a can of diced tomatoes (w/ oregano & basil). I get my digital scale and get to work. I have always eyeballed the sausage, only because I would cut it into 7 equal pieces, so I was pretty on spot with that one. I eyeballed 1.9oz for the 2oz serving. I would have sold myself short. I weigh out about 4oz of sausage and 2oz of pasta. I slice the sausage into coins, then cut each coin in half. I sprayed a 10-inch skillet with PAM and started to saute the sausage. It already has a great flavor (somewhat spicy), but I added dried basil, Italian seasoning, and garlic & herb seasoning. I put the tomatoes into the Magic Bullet and pureed them into a sauce. I poured the tomato sauce into the pan a little at a time, stirring to get the seasonings off the bottom of the pan, then I added more Italian seasoning. I also added a packet of Truvia to my sauce because I like it a little sweet. I warmed the pasta in the microwave then separated the sauce into three servings: one for Reuben and two for me. My pasta was 2PP, the sauce was 4PP, and the tablespoon of shredded parmesean cheese was 1PP. I finished cooking around 12:30 and was doing our dishes at 12:53. Not bad, huh?

Anyway, the food scale. I think that this item is integral to my success at losing weight. I use this digital scale a lot more than I used my old scale with the hash marks. It’s easier to use and there is no cleanup (I never sit anything directly on the scale, always on a plate or in a bowl). I use it so much that I took it out of the box and sat it on top of the microwave. I use it no less than 3 times a day. Yeah, I pretty much weigh and measure everything. No room for error that way.

