So I went to make the stir fry only to find that I had no fresh broccoli. Frozen, sure, but you can’t use that for stir fry. So I had to think of something quick before the native got restless. He kept saying, “I want pancakes for dinner, Mommy?” But since I have been snacking out of control (another blog, another day), we couldn’t have pancakes tonight. So I figured Chicken Quesadillas would be both yummy and satisfying. And they were! Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients:
Ingredients

2 Whole Wheat tortillas (98% fat free, 7PP)
4oz Tyson fajita chicken strips (4PP)
1/2 cup (56g) Reduced-fat Shredded Cheese – Mexican blend (4PP)
1 Tbsp Ortega Taco Seasoning (0PP)
2oz mild diced green chiles (0PP)
1/2 oz. Weight Watchers Reduced-fat Cream Cheese (1PP)
Cooking spray

Recipe makes two quesadillas, 8PP each.

First, chop the chicken into cubes. Spray a 10-inch non-stick pan with PAM. Saute the chicken until it’s warm, just a few minutes.

chicken in pan

Then add the taco seasoning. I didn’t measure it, I just sprinkled it all over the chicken. I figure a tablespoon is enough. Saute chicken some more to make sure all pieces are covered in seasoning. Next add the chiles. Don’t drain them at all; I think the taco seasoning needs that little bit of liquid. Stir to mix well. Next is everyone’s favorite secret ingredient: cream cheese! It makes everything that has a filling or a dip taste soooooo good! And reduced-fat cream cheese is no different.

crm chs

So add that to the mixture and stir until cream cheese is melted and everything is mixed together nicely. I removed my pan from the heat during this step. After it’s mixed well, remove the mixture from the pan.

mixture

Wash and dry the pan, then spray with PAM again. Place a tortilla in the pan.

haha

Spread half of the chicken mixture on half of the tortilla. Remember you’re making two; save the other half of the mixture for the second quesadilla.

half mixture

Cover chicken mixture with half of the shredded cheese (1/4 cup or 28g)

cheese

Now take the spatula and fold the tortilla over so that the quesadilla is closed. Try to smash it to make the cheese stick to the inside of the tortilla, sealing it closed.

smash

Remove from heat and cover to let cheese melt without burning the tortilla.

covered

Ready to eat! Look at the cheesy goodness!

cheesy

Now you can repeat all the steps to make the second quesadilla. Normally I would have a dollop of sour cream, but I decided to save that point. I have 3PP left for the day and I want to use it for something yummy, not sour cream. The quesadilla was delicious! I knew that the chiles would set it off. They added a kick, but not too much spice. I’m a punk when it comes to spice. No spicy! Also, if you can find the Low-Carb/Low-Fat whole wheat tortillas, you can shave probably 2PP off the quesadilla. I still don’t know how I picked up the wrong ones. Whatever. No sense quibbling over spent points.

Tomorrow I am having fried chicken! That’s right! I’m going to try to flatten them and have fried chicken cutlets (6PP), collard greens w/ kale (0PP), almost candied yams (4PP), and whole grain cornbread (6PP). These PP values are averages that I’m hoping I can make the recipes conform to. Well, not the greens and cornbread; those are correct PP values. I may bake the sweet potatoes instead of trying to make WW-friendly candied yams. Not sure yet, depends on what PP values the Recipe Builder decides to spit out. I’ll make the stir fry on Monday.

