Tonight I didn’t really feel like cooking, but I wanted something yummy for dinner. I decided to eat leftover green beans and brown rice, but with what? I haven’t had fish this week, so I thought why not tilapia? Oven fried or baked? Eh, I didn’t want it either way, but I didn’t want to bread and fry it, either. I decided to pan-fry it. Here is the ‘recipe,’ and I use the word recipe really loosely:

seasonings

7oz tilapia (about 2 small fillets)
1tsp butter
1tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1tsp kosher salt
2tsp garlic powder
2tsp onion powder
2tsp cajun spice
2tsp dry mustard
2tsp dry dill weed

pan fillets

Season the tilapia fillets on both sides while heating a nonstick pan on the stove. After seasoning the fillets, add EVOO and butter to pan, swirling around pan to make them mix together. Add fillets to pan and cook about 4-5 minutes per side or until golden brown (I didn’t time it, I just know fish cooks quickly).

tilapia plated

Only 4PP per serving (and I had a 4.4oz fillet which is 1 1/8 serving and it was still only 4PP)! It was YUMMY!!!!! And it tasted great with the leftover rice and green beans. The rice is Uncle Ben’s instant brown rice prepared with a Knorr tomato/chicken bullion cube and cilantro. The green beans are italian cut green beans made with adding a packet of Lipton Onion soup (plus a cup or so of water). I had the tilapia (4PP), 1/2 cup of rice (2PP), and a cup or so of green beans (1PP), and a glass of juice (3PP). You can’t beat a 10PP meal including the beverage! I didn’t eat any snacks today,so I have enough points left over to have a whole cup of frozen yogurt (7PP)!

This recipe is 2/3 toddler approved. He ate all of the rice and asked for seconds, but only kinda ate the green beans. Last night he ate ALL of the green beans and asked for seconds, but only kinda ate the rice. I’d say they are still toddler approved. He ate none of the fish. Eh, you win some, you lose some.

Pan-fried Tilapia is a winner and we’ll be having it (and other fish prepared the exact same way) often.

