So I have been thinking about adding protein powder to my smoothies to make them meal replacement shakes and to help me build some muscle. Not bulk up, just build muscle. My smoothies end up being about 24oz, so after I drink the whole thing, I’m full. I figure if I add protein powder, I can take true advantage of that full feeling and make it a meal. So I start to research and the first thing that comes up is a site dedicated to whey protein. In the FAQs, this Q&A stuck out to me:

Q: Will whey protein help me lose weight?

A: Adding whey protein to the diet is a great way to jump-start a weight loss program. Whey protein is a key ingredient in numerous weight loss and meal replacement products and whey protein isolate (with no fat or carbohydrates) is often the preferred choice. Studies have found that individuals who combine diets with leucine rich protein foods, like whey protein, and exercise have more lean muscle tissue and they lose more body fat. As they lose fat their metabolic rate increases and they naturally burn more calories each day. Another way that whey protein helps manage weight is by promoting satiety, or a feeling of fullness. One recent study showed that whey protein was superior to casein, the other protein in cow’s milk, in promoting satiety.

That’s what I needed to know! When I first read Body-for-Life back in 2002, I was dead set against all the meal replacement shakes and protein bars. I didn’t think it was sustainable (clearly that wasn’t the word I used then). Now that I drink smoothies on a regular basis, I see how this could totally fit into a healthy lifestyle. It doesn’t have to be a quick fix (Slim Fast) like I originally thought.

As I researched more, I realize the whey protein isolate is my best bet, since it lacks fat and carbs. So I research brands and compare consumer reviews & prices. Of course I’m leaning toward EAS products because that’s what I know, I’ve had their liquid shakes before, and I secretly want to be a BFL Champion. I look up the points at it only adds 3PP to the smoothie which is already 3PP. 6PP is not bad for a whole meal. I’ll take it! I also don’t want it to be flavored. The only flavor I want is the flavor I already have. So no chocolate and no vanilla, please and thank you. I guess I’m going to have to go to the store and just stand and look and choose. I really want to avoid going to GNC or the VitaminShoppe because I think they’ll probably be overpriced. We’ll see.

So I’ve made my decision (as long as I don’t uncover a deal breaker): TO SHAKE!

