Walk It Out game for the Wii

This is one of my favorite Wii games. It’s sooooooo simple and sooooooo fun! All you do is walk around this island. But the key is there are songs playing and you have to step on beat to the song. As long as you step to the beat (which I think is the name of the game in England), you earn coins. You earn one coin for each on beat step. Hence the name of the island, Rhythm Island. I absosmurfly LOVE this game!!! You spend the coins decorating the island. Houses, hotels, cars, lighthouses, windmills (energy kind, not the dutch kind like I thought until I built it, lol), barns, flower fields, trees, all kinds of stuff! It’s so addictive because you keep wanting to walk to buy more stuff. You can even make a rainbow! I love it, I really do. And it’s not just me, either! The game has quite the little cult following. I was hooked before I even bought the game just reading the reviews. If you have a Wii and want a good workout, try to find a copy of WIO. I got mine from Game Stop, but they usually have it on Amazon. You won’t be disappointed. In my opinion, it’s best played with a dance mat. I use the mat that came with my Active Life Explorer game. Works just fine.

Anyway, I played today for the first time in a long while. Since mid-December when I got the Gold’s Gym games. I played today for 70 minutes. I swear, it’s like I just bought the game yesterday, LOL! I can’t wait to play tomorrow! Ok, when you are finished playing, the game gives you your statistics for that session. Today I walked 14,675 steps, 4.2 miles, and burned 524.7 calories. I didn’t really buy too much stuff. I bought 4 fairly large items: three flower fields (1,000 coins each) and a suspension bridge (800 coins). It took me approximately 10 minutes to earn 1,000 coins, so more than half of my time walking was spent buying these 4 items. The rest I spent on a house (250), a couple barns (500, I think) and songs. Songs don’t only have to be bought, you buy them in pieces! But the pieces aren’t even in order. Ok, for example, say you need Song #14. You might have to buy 4 CDs to make that song, but the CDs are scattered all over the island. So I could potentially buy 20 CDs in one session and still not complete one song! There are 120 songs in total. I forget how many you start off with, but I’m up to 39. Some fast, some slow. I can’t wait to see what all the other songs are! One day I might walk the island and ONLY buy CDs. Ok, I’m all over the place. Let me post my stats as of this last session.

The map is 100% unlocked! Woowhoooooo! That’s means I’ve been all over the island! At least I think that’s what it means, lol.

97% of the route branches have been opened (67/69). Routes are like streets, but you can’t go down all of them because it costs coins to open the routes. So even though I’ve been all over the island, there are two openings I’ve yet to unlock.

32% of the songs are unlocked. So far my favorites are Missy Elliott (Get Yo’ Freak On), the Black Eyed Peas (Boom Boom Pow?), Pussycat Dolls (When I Grow Up), and there are a couple upbeat instrumentals that I like, but I forget the names of those.

12% of the town has been built. That’s only 574 items out of 3,346. It seems A LOT of the are trees. I’ve decided to save all the trees for last. I don’t know why, finishing touches? I dunno. I’m trying to get all the big stuff out of the way so that I can use them as landmarks to get around the island. I still don’t really know my way around all that well. It helps to have buildings to remind you where to go.

4% of the magic clock. When you play the game, it has the same time of day as it is for you in real time. So if you play at night you’ll be walking in the dark. If you play during the day, you walk in daylight. The thing is, everything is not available for purchase all the time. Some CDs may only be out at noon, others only at 5pm. Some buildings may only be available at 4am. Who’s up to play at 4am??? With the magic clock, you don’t have to be awake, you can magically set it to whatever time you want. But you have to purchase these as well. So far I have unlocked only 1 magic hour (out of 24, of course). Once I start to get more pressed for certain stuff, I’ll be more pressed to buy clock pieces. Right now I just pick them up here and there randomly. Which is why I only have 1 hour completed.

0% of the zodiac. You can collect starts to form the constellations of the 12 zodiac signs in the night sky. I collect every star I pass, yet I haven’t completed one zodiac!

I’ve also never had a rainbow. You can collect 7 different color rainbow spheres. If you get all 7, a rainbow will appear somewhere on the island. That is one of my goals in the game. My friend SistaFattyCakes got a rainbow the first time she played. WTH is wrong with me???

Why am I sharing all of this? Of course I want you to have an idea of the games I’m playing, but I really, really like this game, lol. I like it so much, I want to attack it systematically. So that’s why I’m blogging about it; I’m trying to come up with a plan. I want to buy all of the most expensive stuff first. I guess because those things will take me longer to earn chips for, so I want to get them out of the way. Beyond that, I don’t really have a plan. I thought today about doing it section by section instead of focusing on items (trees still last). So I’ll stay on the farm until all the event capsules are gone, then move on to a different part of the map. But then I thought that was boring because I wouldn’t get to go anywhere. Maybe I’ll just take it day by day and make specific goals for each time I walk. Tomorrow I am going to plan a few more flower fields and get the air ship. I’m not going to stay on the farm, though. Only long enough to buy and build the airship. Then I’ll walk the rest of the island and watch it fly overhead.

Walk It Out is definitely one of life’s simple pleasures. Each time I walk, I’m going to put my stats here in the blog.

