So I have this McCormick recipe/seasoning packet that I’ve been wanting to use for Apple Sage Pork Chops (but since I eat Kosher, I’d use turkey or chicken cutlets). So today I take the turkey breast tenderloins out in preparation for that recipe. Then I decide I don’t want that, but I still have to eat the turkey because it’s thawed out. So I go to the recipes on sparkpeople.com and look up turkey. I find a recipe and decide to tweak it to my tastes. It was DELICIOUS!!!! Did I mention that I ate it with spaghetti squash? It actually wasn’t bad! I’d totally eat it again! It doesn’t really have much of a taste, so in that respect, it is similar to spaghetti pasta. The texture (once in your mouth) is definitely different from spaghetti, but not so much so that my two-year old wouldn’t eat it (he thought it was spaghetti). This recipe is definitely kid friendly. I had already made up my mind that I wasn’t going to like the squash because (1) it just seemed too friggin’ weird and (2) I don’t like vegetables all like that. Ha ha, foiled again! I liked it! Enough that I’ll be eating the leftovers for lunch tomorrow, and looking forward to it.

How does the meal fare on WW? Fantabulously! Only 6 PointsPlus! From here until forever, I will continue saying points. Just know that I am on the new WW program. If I abbreviate, it’ll be PP. So this meal was 6PP.

Here is the site where I learned how to cook the spaghetti squash.

And here is the recipe (with pics):

Spinach & Cheese Stuffed Turkey Breast
 
Course: main meals
PointsPlus™ Value:    6
Servings:  4

Preparation Time:  30 min
Cooking Time:  30 min
Level of Difficulty:  Easy

Ingredients

Ingredients
 
1 1/4 pound(s) turkey breast   
2 wedge(s) The Laughing Cow Light Creamy French Onion
1 wedge(s) The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Garlic & Herb
1 wedge(s) The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss Original Flavor
2 cup(s) spinach   
2 tsp minced garlic   
14 1/2 oz canned diced tomatoes   
1 Tbsp basil   
1 Tbsp Bertolli Extra virgin olive oil   
2 tsp Lawry’s® Seasoned salt 25% less sodium   
1 Tbsp italian seasoning   
1 Tbsp herbes de Provence   
2 tsp onion powder   

Instructions

Pound each of the 4 pieces of turkey out to about 1/4 inch. (I used 2 turkey breast tenderloin and sliced each one in half lengthwise; no pounding necessary) Season both sides of the breasts to your tastes with salt, onion powder, italian seasoning, and Herbes de Provence (if you have it, if not, no biggie). Spread the cheese on one side of each turkey breast (one wedge per breast, choose whatever you like there is a new Sun-dried Tomato flavor that I bet would be really good with this). Put 1/2 cup of spinach on top of the cheese, fold the breast in half and use toothpicks hold the turkey together and keep the filling in.

raw stuffed

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook the turkey for a few minutes on each side, until browned.

breasts pan
on side

Remove turkey breasts from pan. Add garlic and saute for 10-20 seconds. Scrape any bits from bottom of pan. Add the canned tomatoes, basil, onion powder (because sometimes you don’t feel like chopping onions, but for this recipe, I really should have), and italian seasoning (or any other spices you desire). Stir and let simmer for 5 minutes. Add breasts back to pan. Let simmer approximately 10 minutes until turkey is fully cooked and most of the juice from the tomatoes has thickened.

breast pan sauce

Serve with Spaghetti Squash (add more of the sauce than in this pic or you’ll find yourself returning to the kitchen).
Plated

Number of Servings: 4

