Ok, I hate vegetables. Really, I do. I’m like a little kid when it comes to them. That’s why I can’t just do Fat Smash the way it was intended because I don’t eat vegetables all like that. I have a select few that I eat and enjoy:

Broccoli (my most favorite vegetable ever!!!)
Spinach (running a very close second)
Lettuce
Cucumber
Celery
Bell peppers
Onions
Green beans
Corn (grain, starch, whatever, it’s a starchy vegetable!)
Lima beans
Green Peas
Collard Greens
Kale
Sweet Potatoes
Tomatoes (cooked only, never raw, yuck!)

And that’s pretty much it. I recently started eating cauliflower, but I don’t really like it, so I didn’t put it on that list. I’ll also eat cooked carrots in stuff (soups, lentils, stuff like that), but I don’t eat them by themselves or raw. I like to juice them, though, because they are sweet! I *must* get a new juicer. But I digress.

The point is, I’m just not that big on vegetables. I could alternate between broccoli and spinach every day for the rest of my life and be completely OK with that, but now I have to vary my colors. Goodness! It’s not enough I’m eating green vegetables, now I have to vary my colors?? *Rolleyes* Fine. I added sweet potatoes to the list. So what it’s a root? So what it’s starchy? IT’S ORANGE! Orange is a color other than green, so I added it to the list. It’s how I get my Beta carotene (or Vitamin A, however that works) since I don’t eat carrots. And I eat RED Bell Peppers and RED onions (which are really purple, so it’s kind of like a two-fer, only not). But that’s it. I’m committed to trying new foods, but I can’t guarantee I’ll like them. So fruits give me plenty color. That’s all you get out of me.

Even still, I needed to know just how much of a vegetable makes up one serving. So I go to MyPyramid.gov to check it out. Turns out it depends on your age, gender, and level of physical activity. I need 2 1/2 cups of vegetables per day. Again I say to you, I *must* get a new juicer. In the meantime, I’ll just have to *gulp* eat more vegetables.

