Am I interested in or committed to losing weight? I am committed. Here is how I will show my commitment:

I will stick with my eating plan no matter what. How so? First of all, I won’t let stumbling blocks make me quit. If I fall down, I dust myself off and try again. Too many times in the past I’ve cheated on a diet and said, “Oh well, I might as well give up.” Not this time. No matter what happens, I’m not giving up and I’m not getting completely off plan. If I cheat, I will chalk it up as what it was, I will not dwell on it, I will not allow it to cause me to feel like a failure, and I will not continue to eat unhealthy foods or overeat healthy ones. I will not wait until the next day to “start over,” but instead I will get back on plan at the next meal.

I will stick with my exercise program no matter what. No matter how lazy I feel. No matter how tired I am. I am a priority and I’m going to start treating myself that way. If my son’s life depended on my exercising, I’d give it 200% every day. Why can’t I exercise like my life depends on it? My life does depend on it! And I need to start acting like it!!! I will schedule time to exercise and stick to the schedule. Even though things happen, if I miss a workout, I will make it up in the same day. I will exercise for at least 30 minutes every day (an hour is ideal) on my Wii 5 days a week, no matter what.

Today I went off my Fat Smash plan. And I use the word ‘plan’ loosely. Because had I planned what I was going to eat today after breakfast, it might have been easier for me to stick to my plan. After I worked out on the Wii, I ate a banana. As I was eating the banana, I got a strong craving for something crunchy. I ignored the craving and finished the banana. I was still hungry and still wanted something crunchy. I settled on Smart Start. I ate one cup with about 1/2 cup of 2% milk and another banana. It was the best bowl of cereal I’ve ever had in my life!!! You’d think that was enough. Nope, it wasn’t. I still wanted something crunchy so I ate two mini bags of Smart Pop popcorn. I stayed within my WW points for the day, but didn’t do so well for FS.

I’m supposed to do at least one thing today to show that I’m truly committed to losing the weight, not just interested. Even though I went off plan, I went off plan and continued to eat healthy. Sure, it was outside of the parameters of Fat Smash, but it was well within the guidelines for WW. I didn’t go to the store and buy chocolate cake and ice cream like I wanted to do (one of my neighbors was baking a cake and it smelled SO good). And I really, really wanted that chocolate cake!!! But I didn’t. I simply got back on plan and decided that I’m in this for the long haul. Cereal and popcorn aside, I’m pressing forward.

I am committed – NO MATTER WHAT!!!

