Ok, so finally, you get to hear about this 100 Days of Weight Loss. I bought this book about a year ago. I didn’t make it 2 weeks, let alone 100 days. Not this time. This time I have YOU here to hold me accountable. Can’t very well leave you hanging, can I?

The book 100 Days of Weight Loss was written by a nurse named Linda Spangle. The book is divided into 100 small mini lessons. She says, “Many of these lessons will simply remind you of things you already know. But others will pull you deeper, helping you cope more effectively with issues such as weak motivation, low self-esteem, and emotional eating. As you complete these one-a-day lessons, you’ll build a solid weight-management framework you can stand on forever.”

Nice, right? Fits perfectly with Fat Smash, even if I don’t want it to, lol. She gives three steps:

Step 1 – Choose your diet plan

I’m going to choose FS and WW together. The reason I have to use both is that Bro. Dr. Ian gives you too much leeway in FS. He says to eat until you are satisfied. I’m fat, Dr. Ian. If I could do that, I wouldn’t have even bought this book. So I use WW to count my points while I’m on FS to make sure that I don’t overeat.

Step 2 – Stick to your plan for 100 days

Step 3 – Track your progress

She suggests buying a journal for this purpose, but I’ll be tracking my progress right here. So I will actually do my daily lessons here. Although Nurse Spangle says the goal is to log 100 days even if it takes longer to do so, once I start, I want to log 100 CONSECUTIVE days. I need to keep myself accountable daily.

Before we even get to the first assignment, she instructs you to “create a vision for the future” by writing down at least 10 reasons why you want to lose weight. Here are mine:

1) I want to FEEL better, physically. My body just aches all the time. Knees hurt, back hurts, shoulder hurts. Hurts to stand up, hurts to kneel. Joints hurt or feel stiff. I just feel like a 60 year old in a 36 year old’s body. I know I’m not supposed to feel this way. I’m sure my body would feel better if it wasn’t carrying 60+ extra pounds.

2) I want to be HEALTHY. Right now I am, and I want to keep it that way. My blood pressure and cholesterol are fine. I am not borderline diabetic. I want to keep it this way. I don’t want any of the crap obesity can cause. My mother died of heart disease, so no thank you on that. No cancers, high blood pressure . . . I want no parts of it. I don’t want to die when my son is young. I want to see what makes grandmothers lose their minds, so I need so be living to have grandbabies. I love my son; I want to be around for as long as I can for him. He needs his mommy.

3) I want to look better NAKED. That’s that brand tagline of the place I used to go to for Pilates. I just decided in this moment that I’ll be going back there. Anyway, I want to look better naked. I’m pretty much the only person who sees me naked, and I don’t like what I see one little bit. Sure, I want to look good in clothes and fit into stuff in my closet that I wore before I had my son and simply refuse to get rid of. I had JUST started to fit into those clothes. I have NEW clothes that I’ve never worn because I’ve never been able to fit them. But even more than I want to look good in those clothes, I want to look good out of them, FOR ME. When I am getting into the shower and catch a glimpse of myself au naturale, I want to not be thinking about how disgusting my thighs are or how flabby my arms are or how I still look pregnant. I want to look in the mirror and think, “Damn, girl, I ain’t even know you could look THIS good!”

4) I want to have more energy. It’s hard keeping up with a 2 year old. He is always ready to GO GO GO! And all Mommy wants to do is sit down and rest. All the time. Sure, I run in behind him all the time, but when it’s all said and done? All I want to do is relax. I get nothing done. My apartment is always a mess. Somewhat presentable, but always hidden messes. No reason for all of that. I should have enough energy to do everything that needs to be done. Within reason of course; I’m no superwoman.

5) I want to feel better mentally. I can’t say I suffer from a poor self-esteem or even poor body image. If I can fit into something, I feel like I look nice in it. It’s the clothes I’ve outgrown that make me feel bad about myself. Most of my friends know that I think I’m beautiful! But that’s because I love ME. And because my mother was fat and I loved her. So although I don’t necessarily feel ‘bad’ about how I look (when I have on clothes), I could still use a boost in confidence. I want to choose an outfit, get dressed, look in the mirror with a smile of approval, and go out the door. I do NOT want to put on an outfit then take it off because I feel fat only to put on another outfit to find that it no longer fits. Then I feel fatter, and then end up settling for something comfortable yet presentable, but feeling less confident than if you could put on an outfit and looked in the mirror like, “Yeah!”

Stick a bookmark in feeling fat when you ARE fat. We’ll come back to that later.

6) I want to be able to put panties on and off without having to buckle my legs to separate my thighs. THIS. This has long been a goal of mine. The fat in my upper thighs is just disgusting. It really is. Be glad you don’t have to see it. And yes, I have taken pictures of it for a couple reasons. One, so I can gauge the progress of them shrinking. And two, so that I’ll have maintenance encouragement; I can have the pictures as a reminder of what could be.

7) I don’t want my son to ever have to deal with being overweight. I want him to be healthy and I’m completely in charge of whether or not he is. I was not overweight as a child, but I know how cruel kids can be. I don’t want him to have to deal with that. I don’t want him to have to struggle with losing weight. I know how hard this is and I don’t want him to have to do it.

8 ) I want to be stronger. I want to be able to do push-ups. I want to have muscles. I want to FEEL fit!

9) I want to run/walk a marathon. Can’t do it carrying all this extra weight.

10) I want to have ZERO BACK FAT!!! I want NO FAT ROLLS!!!

11) I would love to be able to lose the weight, get toned, then get certified as a Personal Trainer. That way I could help others reach their goals as well. I know I would love to have a PT that used to be fat.

So that’s 100 Days. I’ll be starting when I start FS which will most likely be Sunday, December 5, 2010. That gives me time to plan meals. FS is not something you can do without a plan and a plan B! If I fail to plan, I plan to fail. So I have to research and plan meals for the first 9 days at least.

As far as the Wii, I didn’t Walk It Out yesterday. I did WiiFit instead, but only 38 minutes. I know what it is about that game that makes you burn calories: you become addicted to doing better in the games. You just want to keep playing to see if you can beat your high score! That’s all it is! Addiction! Today I plan to WIO and Just Dance for no less than an hour between the two.

Happy Friday!

