So. Excited!!! For a few years (yes, I said YEARS) I’ve been checking out the same book from the library on a pretty regular basis. You already know I’m a big nerd, so you also know I love books. I’m very frugal, so you know I love FREE (it’s only my favorite word in the English language). That makes the library my absolute most favorite place ever! I wish they had video games for check out, but I digress. I was talking about this book: Wellness Foods A to Z. I absolutely love this book!!! As far as eating healthy, I think it’s an absolute must have. It’s like a food encyclopedia. The foods are listed alphabetically and for each one it gives a short history of the food, its nutritional profile, the different types available, what to choose when buying, and how to prepare it for use. I mean, there is literally a food label (you know, serving size, calories, fat grams, carbs, etc) for each food! Not only that, but I can also look up vitamins/minerals to see which foods contain which nutrients. It’s absolutely awesome!!! So I finally got around to buying it off of Amazon and it arrived today! I got this book, this $40 book, for $1.50 plus S&H. It’s a used book, of course, but LIKE NEW hardly describes it. So my excitement is not only for finally owning this valuable resource, but also for the fact that I got a pretty much brand-spankin’ new book for less than what I used to spend on a fast food value meal. Now that’s what’s up.

So how do I use this absolutely mahvelous resource? I use it in conjunction with my favorite website to track what I eat: http://www.FitDay.com. I absolutely LOVE this website! Why? Because it’s totally awesome! Ok, Ok, I’ll be specific. Let me give you a screen shot so you can see what I’m seeing. This is a screen shot of the food tracker and the nutritional breakdown of what I’d eaten earlier today (to see bigger pic, look at this blog post separately by clicking the post title):

FitDay screenshot

When I first started using this site a few years ago, I was trying to figure out how I would know what to eat to get which nutrients. That’s how I ended up finding Wellness Foods. This book has been an absolute godsend, for lack of a better word. What I do is just eat for a few days and take a look at where I’m lacking. In the screen shot above, the green numbers in the Nutrition section are percentages and mean that I’ve met my Recommended Daily Allowance for that vitamin/mineral. Red numbers, also percentages, are nutrients that I still need. Am I totally missing out on everything? Something specific? Am I getting too much of one and not enough of the other? After this little assessment, I then decide if I (a) even like the food or (b) am willing to stomach it even if I don’t. After all of that, I find various recipes to put the food in so that I can incorporate it into my diet.

So using today as an example, I would look up Vitamin E, Copper, Iron, Magnesium, Manganese, Niacin, Pant. Acid, Potassium, and Zinc in the Wellness Foods book since those are the nutrients I’m lacking. Let’s go even further, using Vitamin E as an example. The RDA for all adults is 15mg. The best source, according to Wellness Foods A to Z, is corn or soybean oil with 12mg per tablespoon and canola/sunflower oil with 8mg per tablespoon. Fine if I’m cooking with oil, but if I’m not, I need a food source for Vitamin E. The best ones are kale with 7mg per cup (cooked) and sweet potatoes with 5mg per 5oz. Even my favorite veggies Spinach (4mg per cup, cooked) and broccoli (2mg per cup, cooked) made the cut. I tend to look for fruits and vegetables to get my nutrients since they are lower in WW points, but that’s just me. I like kale, but normally only eat it with collard greens. I eat sweet potatoes often, so those coupled with spinach or broccoli would probably be my choice.

So that’s it! I barely scratched the tip of the iceberg! You can also track your activity, your weight, set weight goals, keep a journal, view your calories consumed vs calories burned, track your measurements, and – my absolute favorite – you can run reports! The nerd in me thinks that this makes weight loss fun. I’m not just learning how to drop weight, I’m focusing on being healthy at the same time. My goal is to be able to get all of my nutrients from food and not have to take a multivitamin. In the past, the best way for me to achieve this was by juicing. I need a new juicer, so I just have to try really, really hard to eat plenty of fruits and veggies. This is an absolutely perfect segue into what my eating plan is going to be.

You’re still not all that clear on just exactly what my eating plan is, are you? No matter, I’m not always absolutely clear on it, either. And that’s OK. Here’s what I’m thinking. I’m thinking FAT SMASH! I need the detox, most definitely. And I could actually use the structure of the diet. It has worked for me in the past for a weight loss boost. I’ve never actually done it for the whole 90 days, but I think I’m ready for the challenge. I also need the structure of the WeightWatchers (WW) Points® system. WW ensures that I maintain portion control. And I’ll use FitDay to ensure I’m getting all my nutrients. Right now, that’s my plan. Fat Smash (FS) is 90 days which is perfect for my 100 Days of Weight Loss Challenge. What’s that? You’ll have to read about that in the next entry!

By the way, my WiiFit age today? 32! I can’t even believe it! Absolutely awesome! The tests were all mental, though. At least it seemed that way – mental and balance. So that was a welcome surprise. My balance has improved. Yesterday I was perfectly balanced! And that has actually helped in some of the balance games. At least according to me, lol. Clearly, it still tells me I’m unbalanced, even in the games in which I’ve improved.

Next up: 100 Days . . .

