Ok, let me get started. I’m actually sitting here trying to organize this like I’m writing a paper, for goodness’ sakes! It’s a friggin’ blog! This is the type of crap I have to tell myself to get my butt in gear. So you can imagine what eating right and exercising is like for me. Anyway, here I am, albeit all over the place. First, let me bring you up to speed.

This isn’t my first bout with weight loss. I fought this battle before and won! See my old blog here. Don’t feel like doing all that? Here are the highlights: I used to be 247lbs, did WW and walked to lose about 70lbs, then I got pregnant. Delivered my son at 215lbs. Now, 2 years later, I’m bigger than I was at the end of my pregnancy, but still not back to my starting weight, thank goodness.

Fast forward to the present. A good friend of mine visited me in October and she brought her Wii along with her. We played for FOUR HOURS!!! I couldn’t believe how out of breath and sweaty I was, but still wanted to keep playing. Let’s be clear: I don’t recommend playing for four hours! The next day my body hurt so bad I could barely move. But it was worth it because I had FUN! So, I purchased my Wii on November 18, 2010 with the sole intention of using it to get in better shape. My preferred exercise is walking, but it’s too cold so I figured this would be fun. Who wouldn’t want to play to lose weight?

Because I am a big nerd, I researched the Wii and exergames online the week before I decided to buy. There are some really nice blogs (and vlogs) about various Wii games. Nutwiisystem‘s reviews are my favorite! He (I’m assuming it’s a man, I’m not sure why) even has a list of the best Wii exergames and their runner-ups. After reading/watching reviews, I decided to buy WiiFit Plus (of course), Walk It Out (WIO), Just Dance, Just Dance 2, Michael Jackson: The Experience, and Active Life Explorer. I still want Gold’s Gym Dance Workout, but I don’t have that one yet. As you can see, I love to dance! I remember someone (probably one of the many doctors who have told me to lose weight) saying, do whatever it was you did for exercise in high school. I wasn’t an athlete in high school, so at first I was at a loss. Then I asked if dancing counted; I was on the dance team in high school. The person said yes, and I’ve incorporated dance into my exercising ever since.

Since I bought the Wii, I’ve only missed 2 days. A few of my friends think that I’m obsessed, but I’m really not. I just want to play, lol. At first, I was playing mostly WiiFit Plus and WIO. WIO is a very addictive game! It doesn’t seem like it would be, but it totally is! You find yourself planning to walk for 30 minutes, and the next thing you know an hour has gone by! Check out the WIO community on FaceBook. Anyway, besides WIO, I would make a 30-minute routine in My WiiFit Plus and then WIO for 30+ minutes. I haven’t WIO in a week! I’ve been playing Active Life Explorer and JD2. I haven’t even played the MJ game yet, because I know that once I do, that’s all I’ll play, LOL!

All this working out, how much have I lost? NOTHING! And it has nothing to do with the Wii and everything to do with me being a fat ass. Pure and simple, I’m a glutton. See, I have these binges. I can go weeks eating perfectly fine, and then just start eating everything in site. I’m hoping that this blog will be therapeutic in a way that I’ll figure out just exactly what makes me do that ignorant mess so that I can stop the behavior. When I first got WIO, I weighed 222lbs (I’m 5’8”). Here are my weigh-ins:

11/18/2010 – 222.7lbs
11/25/2010 – 226.6lbs

What I like about the WiiFit Plus is that when you gain a significant amount of weight, it asks you to select a reason for the gain. Each time (yes, three big gains in less than 2 weeks, I know) I had to choose ‘I Ate Too Much.’ Seeing that in the game actually made me check myself. Clearly, I didn’t spend all this money on this console and these games to be gaining weight! Thank goodness I was diligent about playing or who knows how much weight I would have gained! My new mantra before I eat is, “Do you want to eat that or lose weight?” If I can answer, “I can eat this AND lose weight,” then I put it right into my mouth, lol. Otherwise, I have to make a different choice. So far, this is working for me. I think of it like AA/NA members do: ONE DAY AT A TIME! And right now, it’s actually one MEAL at a time.

I actually weigh myself every day since I do a daily Body Test on the WiiFit Plus. As a former WeightWatcher, I’m not used to this. I’m used to weekly weigh-ins, and that’s what I’ll use here on my blog. Thursday is my weigh-in day. Hopefully tomorrow I can post a loss!

I need to go eat lunch. Breakfast was a Skim Caramel Macchiato no whip. Not the breakfast of champions, I know. So I need to eat. Stay tuned, though, because I’ll be back later on today to

My WiiFit age
Post my inches
Complete my first 100 Days of Weight Loss activity
Talk about my food plan
Talk FitDay.com

That was as much for me as it was for you! I want to make sure I don’t leave anything out. If I fail to plan, I plan to fail! See you in a bit!

